Communities Participating in the Coalition Effort

The Steering Committee presented a draft resolution to the participants of Summit II and solicited the support of every community in the lower Colorado River basin. The resolution expressed the regional nature of the flooding problem, recognized that the problem would worsen as the population continues to increase, and identified the need for local assistance with technical expertise, training, and emergency management programs. The adoption of the resolution committed the community to supporting the formation of a Texas Colorado River Floodplain Coalition and appointing two representatives of the community to serve on the committees working on the charter for the Coalition. The resolution did not commit the community to joining the coalition once it was formally established.

At of the end of August 2000, twenty-one communities had approved a resolution, with two still pending approval by city council or county commissioners’ court. An updated listing of the communities that are currently active in the TCRFC are shown here.

Executive and Technical Committees

The Executive Committee held its first meeting on September 28, 2000, to continue the work started by the Steering Committee by initiating the Coalition Formation Process.  The Executive Committee was composed of elected officials from each community that expressed support of the formation process through adoption of the resolution. This Committee served as the oversight committee and provided overall guidance to the Technical Committees and approved all products generated during the charter formation process.

The Technical Committees were geographically organized and represented city and county staff and officials in each of three regions: upper basin, middle basin, and lower basin.  The Technical Committees were organized along geographic lines in order to encourage participation on a monthly basis by providing shorter travel distances, smaller interactive groups, and common floodplain issues. Members of the Technical Committees were expected to make regular reports to their respective Executive Committee members to obtain feedback on whether the Technical Committee’s work was consistent with the general scope and guidance provided by the Executive Committee.

During the months of October through December 2000, the Technical Committees met in their geographic regions individually and as a whole to work towards developing a charter for the coalition. This charter defines the organizational structure of the coalition as well as provides consistent technical criteria for regional management of the floodplain.

Several months were anticipated for review and refinement of the charter and technical documents as the members of the Technical Committees and the Executive Committee solicit input from their respective city councils and county commissioners’ courts. During this period, opportunity for public review and comments were also provided by the participating cities and communities. Input was solicited from an affected stakeholders group made up of builders and developers associations, environmental interests, economic development councils, council of governments, and affected local, state, and federal entities. By April 2001, the Technical Committees incorporated all comments by the local communities into the documents and provided a final draft to the Executive Committee. In May, the Executive Committee reviewed the final documents and adopted the Coalition Charter. Each community willing to participate in the Coalition then adopted the Charter and become a member.

A facilitator assisted with the work of the Executive and Technical committees during the Coalition Formation Process and assisted in the development of the Coalition charter and other supporting technical documents. Staff provided by LCRA organized existing data and technical assistance, and arranged meeting facilities. The facilitator and the LCRA support staff assisted the Committees in the preparation and distribution of meeting agendas, materials, and the minutes of each meeting.